WTA Awards 2018 Winners

| ,

The WTA has announced the winners of the annual year-end tournament and player awards, voted for by the players themselves.

In addition, members of the WTA Coach Program voted for the first ever WTA Coach of the Year.

The tournament awards are divided into four categories (WTA Premier Mandatory, WTA Premier 5, WTA Premier, WTA International), winners receive recognition from the players due to the excellence of their staff and organization, passionate fans, and dedication to the sport and its athletes.

The 2018 tournament awards winners:

  • WTA Premier Mandatory: BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells)
  •  WTA Premier 5: Internazionali BNL d’Italia (Rome)
  • WTA Premier:St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy
  • WTA International: Prudential Hong Kong Tennis Open

Since it was introduced in 2014 for Tournaments of the Year, 2018 marks the fifth year in a row (10th overall) that Indian Wells has been voted as winner in the Premier Mandatory category, as well as Rome’s third consecutive triumph in the Premier 5 category.

In the Premier classification, St. Petersburg obtains the award for the first time since the tournament’s come back, while Hong Kong also receives the award for the first time as the best International tournament of 2018.

In this category, Abierto Mexicano Telcel presented by HSBC and the extinct Bell Challenge,

lead the list of winners with eight awards each.

Czech Republic’s Petra Kvitova receives the Karen Krantzcke Sportsmanship Award for the sixth successive year and seventh time overall. This honor is granted to a player who conducts herself in a manner fitting of a professional sports figure and observes the rules of fair play, shows respect for others and is gracious on and off the court.

Bethanie Mattek-Sands of the United States earns the Peachy Kellmeyer Player Service Award for the first time in her career, recognizing the work she has done to support her fellow players as well as other initiatives on behalf of the general player population.

Sascha Bajin, coach of Naomi Osaka, becomes the first winners of the WTA Coach of the Year Award, which is given to the coach with not only success on the court, but also one who serves as an ambassador of the sport and brings coaching to the forefront of the game.

In their first year together, Bajin helped bring Osaka’s game to new heights, as she won her first WTA title at the BNP Paribas Open and claimed her first Grand Slam title at the US Open after defeating Serena Williams.



P. de los Tamarindos 400 A,
B. de las Lomas, C.P. 05120,
Cuajimalpa, CDMX.

+52 (55) 2167 3055