Abierto Mexicano confirms the players of this years edition

| ,

  • Rafael Nadal, Alexander Zverev, Kevin Anderson and John Isner will be the Top 10 playes in Acapulco. Stan Wawrinka, David Ferrer, Alex de Minaur, Grigor Dimitrov and Nick Kyrgios stand out in the male Draw.
  • Sloane Stephens, will be joined by Eugenie Bouchard, Mónica Puig, Daria Gavrilova and Johanna Konta.
  • Tennis Run will be the first of this year activities. FoxTenn will substitute the Hawk-Eye.

Mexico City. – The first announcement in October was striking, the official presentation of the list of players competing in Acapulco at the end of February confirms once again Abierto Mexicano Telcel presented by HSBC not only as the best tournament in Latin America, but also as a important stop in the new season.

With Rafael Nadal (No. 2 in the world), Alexander Zverev (No. 4), Kevin Anderson (No. 6) and John Isner (No. 10), the AMT 2019 will have four Top 10 players.

Nadal, champion of the AMT in 2005 and 2013, will seek for third time the crown in Acapulco, if he succeds, his name will be added along David Ferrer as the only players to have won the tournament on clay and hard court.

Zverev, champion of the ATP Finals, will be playing in Acapulco for the second time and as one of favorites to raise El Guaje . Anderson, champion in Pune and two-time finalist in Acapulco (2014 and 2018), will be another of the big favorites.

Acapulco will have the presence of the Swiss Stan Wawrinka (No. 59 and winner of three Grand Slam titles), the Bulgarian Grigor Dimitrov (No. 21 and champion of the AMT in 2014), the American Sam Querrey (No. 49 and champion of the AMT 2017), as well as the Australians Nick Kyrgios (No. 52) and Alex De Minaur (No. 29).

David Ferrer (No. 139) and four times champion of the tournament, got a wild card and will play for the last time the Abierto Mexicano Telcel presented by HSBC before his retirement as a professional tennis player in Madrid.

“After announcing the first group of players in October, we set the goal to offer the fans the best tennis players in the world”, said Raúl Zurutuza, director of the AMT. “In the last two editions, our location and the date of the tournament, have been decisive for many tennis players to choose the Abierto Mexicano as a mandatory stop before the tour in the United States [Indian Wells and Miami] “.

Regarding the WTA draw, the AMT 2019 ensured the presence of Sloane Stephens, champion of the AMT in 2016 and No. 5 in the world; the Croatian Donna Vekic (No. 29), the British Johanna Konta (No. 38), the Chinese Saisai Zheng (No. 40), the Australian Daria Gavrilova (No. 41), the Greek Maria Sakkari (No. 43), the Puerto Rican Mónica Puig (No. 54) and the Canadian Eugenie Bouchard (No. 79), among other players.

“The WTA players of this year will be one of the most interesting in the last few years. Stephens knows how it is to win in Acapulco, but she will have big competitors on this edition. The Feminine tournament has always surprised us, and I am sure this year won’t be the exception”, said Zurutuza.

Among the novelties this year’s edition, Tennis Run will take place for the first time, an event organized by the AMT in collaboration with Emoción Deportiva, and which will mark the start of the Abierto Mexicano Telcel presented by HSBC on February 24th. Tennis Run will have 3 distances (10K, 5K and 3K) in adult and child categories.

Finally, the inclusion of FoxTenn technology for the next edition of the AMT, which will replace the Hawk-Eye. “FoxTenn is a technology capable of go over more than 150 thousand images per second with 40 high-speed cameras installed around the court. This system will allow to observe the pique of the ball with much more certainty and precision. The ‘Hawk-Eye’, which we installed in 2014 together with the surface change, was based on the possible trajectory of the ball after the hit”, explained Zurutuza.



P. de los Tamarindos 400 A,
B. de las Lomas, C.P. 05120,
Cuajimalpa, CDMX.

+52 (55) 2167 3055