De Miñaur, Fritz, Paul and Shelton perform on the first day of AMT 2024


  • On Monday, 10 matches will be played, 8 singles and two doubles, with Mexicans 
  • Ernesto Escobedo and Santiago Gonzalez in search of the second round.

Acapulco, February 25, 2024.- The main draw activity of the XXXI edition of the Abierto Mexicano Telcel presented by HSBC, to be played this week in Acapulco, starts this Monday with eight matches in singles and two in doubles.

The first to enter the competition are three of the top eight seeds, Australian Alex De Miñaur (3) and Americans Taylor Fritz (4) and Tommy Paul (7).

Also in the day’s action will be American sensation Ben Shelton (No. 16), Canadian Felix Auger-Aliassime, Argentine Diego Schwartzman and Mexican Ernesto Escobedo, the latter two having reached the main draw via wildcard.

De Miñaur, defending champion, opens against Japan’s Taro Daniel; Fritz against Italian junior Matteo Arnaldi and Paul, 2023 finalist, against Briton Jack Draper, while Shelton faces another Briton, Daniel Evans, and Auger-Aliassime against a player from the qualifiers.

Meanwhile, Schwartzman will play against Serbian Miomir Kecmanovic and Mexican Escobedo against Austrian Sebastian Ofner. The day will be completed by the Portuguese Nuno Borges against a player from the qualifiers.

In doubles, Mexican Santiago Gonzalez and British Neal Skupski, top favorites, will face Norwegian Casper Ruud and American William Blumberg and in another match, Australian John Peers and Finnish Harri Heliovaara will face Australian Rinky Hijikata and British Joe Salisbury. 

The Abierto Mexicano Telcel presented by HSBC in its XXXI edition, to be played from February 26 to March 2 in Acapulco, will feature nine players ranked in the Top 20 of the Pepperstone ATP Rankings and four of them are in the Top 10.

Germany’s Alexander Zverev (No.6), Denmark’s Holger Rune (No.7), Australia’s Alex de Miñaur (No.9), reigning champion of the tournament, and American Taylor Fritz (No.10) head the list of players.

They are joined by Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas (No.11), Norwegian Casper Ruud (No.12) and Americans Tommy Paul (No.14) -finalist in 2023, Frances Tiafoe (No.15), and Ben Shelton (No.16), as well as Canadian Felix Auger Aliassime (No.29).

The champions in recent years of the tournament are Juan Martin del Potro (2018), Nick Kyrgios (2019), Rafael Nadal (2020 and 2022), Alexander Zverev (2021) and Alex de Miñaur (2023).


P. de los Tamarindos 400 A,
B. de las Lomas, C.P. 05120,
Cuajimalpa, CDMX.

+52 (55) 2167 3055